Reverse Phish

(reddc) #1

What happens when your own users start phishing other users in the organization? Risky business for those that get caught but most won’t because of your “soft inside”. It used to be an “inside job” of embezzlement but now it’s identity theft and no one will ever know. How would you detect it? Is it already happening? Are your employees harvesting and selling contact information, calendar information or even network access? Social engineering is easier when you get paid to help the phisher!

(Edwin Eekelaers) #2

Anyone here sending fake stuff will face the wrath of me & my management + HR…
That’s why i have asked my CIO if he agrees with the phish test i’d like to do but till now no answer.

(Daniel Ndiba) #3

How would you identify a reverse phisher?

(Chuck Kissel) #4

I have some experience with this. Not saying that I did it but as an exercise because we believed that some users or devices can send internal emails that would bypass many security measures.
All tips are assuming you are using Exchange or Lotus Notes and not some cheap freebie Linux email server.

1. Lock Down Connectors: Block incoming emails from untrusted sources. Outlook authenticates with the server and allows access. Devices should be whitelisted by IP to allow sending of emails (Fax, MFP, server applications, etc).
  2. Monitor Outgoing Emails: I personally monitor weekly large bulk emails leaving my work place. Looking for emails that have more than 5 recipients. I only see subject line and number of attachments. But if I see an email with a subject like “Free Data” and butt loads of excel sheets with “Customer Numbers” leaving that is a red flag.
  3. Monitor User Activity: Any large institution would have some sort of logging system. Some advanced systems can alert on unusual activity.